TortoiseGit Settings

Every function in TortoiseGit is reached by right-clicking on a Windows folder. Doing that, a context menu opens and on that you'll find some menu items that belong to TortoiseGit. Depending on whether you have clicked on a repository or not - or a file instead of a folder - the context menu will show different TortoiseGit commands. Here is what you see when you click on a regular folder:

If you click on the sub menu "Settings" a Settings window opens like the one shown below. Here, the Context Menu item has been clicked on:

You will use the TortoiseGit settings:

  • Upon your first commit, to enter your email address and your name (required by the software)
  • Each time you connect a new repository on Najub to one of your Windows folders
  • Possibly to adjust your menu settings

 


 

Menu settings

Context Menu

Here you check which commands you want to have shown on the context menu right above the TortoiseGit icon (the top menu). The installation package that we have compiled for you adds some often used commands to the ordinary top menu:

  • Add
  • Show Log
  • Diff
  • Pull

Set Extend Menu

This section lets you check which commands you want to hide from the top menu and from the sub menu.

The Najub installation package hides a series of commands that we deem are rarely used by non programmers working on binary files (Windows Word and Excel), as opposed to programmers working on text files. The work flow and the advantages of using Versions Control are different for these two use cases.

Below are the commands that Najub has hidden from the sub menu:

  • Sync
  • Show Reflog
  • Daemon
  • Rebase
  • Stash Apply
  • Bisect Start
  • Delete (keep local)
  • Clean Up
  • Create Tag
  • Blame
  • Submodule Add
  • Create Patch Serial
  • Apply Patch Serial
  • Review/apply single patch
  • Send mail

When you install an update, taking advantage of the automatic update check that is built in TortoiseGit, the installation package comes directly from TortoiseGit. In this way you are guaranteed to always have the most up to date version of the software. Your configuration settings will not change when updating.

However, if you click on "Restore Default" you will either get the Najub default settings or - after an update with the original software - the original default settings.

In any case, if you want to get access to all the commands, trigger the context menu with Ctrl-Shift right-click, instead of just right-click on a folder.

Najub configured menu

Below is a picture of the default configuration you get with the original installation package vs with the package published on Najub.

 

Original Configuration

 

 

Najub Configured

 

 

 


 

Entering Email Address and Name

Before you can use Versions Control you are required to enter your name and email address.

You do this clicking on the "Git" section item. The screen is self-explaining. Just be aware that the other users of the same repositories will see this data in the history log.